British Political System


Иностранные языки, филология и лингвистика

Queen Elizbeth II is the fourth sovereign of the House of Windsor. It consists of two chmbers known s the House of Commons nd House of Lords nd the Queen s its hed but only House of Commons hve rel power. The House of Commons consist of 650 elected members nd its persisted over by the Speker. Only four members House of Commons hve reserved sets: Speker Prime Minister leder of the prty tht hs mjority in the House of Commons nd Leder of the Opposition nd member who hs st in the House of Commons for the longest unbroken period who clled...



16.82 KB

2 чел.

British Political System.

The UK is a parliamentary monarchy it’s mean that monarch is Head of State but real power belongs to Parliament. The sovereign is head of legislature, executive and judiciary branches of power, commander- in-chief of armed forces, and temporal head of established Church of England. The Queen of the UK also the Head of the Commonwealth, and so the Queen of Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and other countries, includes into the Commonwealth, an association of former members of the British Empire.

In the British formulation, the sovereign reigns, but does not rule. But everything today is done in the Queen’s name. It is her government, her armed forces, her law courts, and so on. Formally Queen has the right to dissolve Parliament and appoint a Prime Minister. In practice, they have never once exercised that prerogative. Real power is exercised by Parliament and the government. But the Queen and the members of Royal family exert great influence on the life of the country.

Queen Elizabeth II is the fourth sovereign of the House of Windsor. She was born in London 21 April 1926 and was crowned at Westminster 2 June 1953, after his father’s death in 1952.

 The Sovereign's official residence in London is Buckingham Palace. 

Parliament is the supreme legislative body of Great Britain. It has existed since 1265. The life of Parliament is divided into sessions.  The duration of Parliament is five years. A new session of Parliament opens every year.

The main functions of Parliament are: to make laws, provide money for government, to examine government policy, to debate political questions.

It consists of two chambers known as the House of Commons and House of Lords, and the Queen as its head, but only House of Commons have real power. The House of Commons consist of 650 elected members, and it’s persisted over by the Speaker. Only four members House of Commons have reserved seats: Speaker, Prime Minister (leader of the party that has majority in the House of Commons), and Leader of the Opposition and member who has sat in the House of Commons for the longest unbroken period who called Father of the House of Commons.

MP’s sit on two sides of the hall, one side for governing party and the other for the Opposition. The first two rows of seats occupied by leading members (front-benchers), the back benches belong to the rank-and-file MP’s (back-benches).

The necessary quorum is 40 persons.

The House of Lords consist of 750 members of four different types: life peers, Law Lords, bishops and elected hereditary peers. The chairman of the House of Lords is the Lord Speaker

In the House of Commons new bills are introduced and debated, and if a Bill is passed, it sent to the House of Lords to be approved, and finally to the monarch to be signed. Only then it becomes an Act of Parliament. The members House of Lords receive no payment for his work.

Parliamentary elections held every five years. It’s held on the basis of universal suffrage and secret ballot. All citizens of the UK aver the age of 18 have one vote. The election is decided on a simple majority – candidates with the most votes wins.

Parliamentary system depends on political parties which choose candidates for elections. Majority party forms Government and its leader usually becomes Prime Minister. There are two main parties – Conservarive and Labour. Although there are Leberal, Social Democratic and nationalist parties from Scotland, Nothern Ireland and Wales.

Executive power in the UK belongs to the Government, which consists of the Cabinet and other ministers of the Government. Prime Minister selects all Ministers by the Queen on his advice. The Prime Minister and the other most senior Ministers belong to the supreme decision-making committee, known as the Cabinet which deals with the main lines of policy, control of executive and co-ordinates the work of ministers.

Ministers may be members of either the House of Commons or the House of Lords.

Government is arranged in the 24 Ministerial Departments and their executive agencies, each with its ministerial head. All the heads of departments are members of the House of Commons.

HM Government's powers include general executive and statutory powers, delegated legislation, and numerous powers of appointment and patronage.